ANZCCART Australia

  • Board

    Dr David Mason  BVSc MANZCVSc GAICD MBALay Member

    ANZCCART Chair since May 2019.  David is a veterinarian with 20 years of clinical experience and has been a company director of a large Australian veterinary group of 19 clinics and also state president of the Australian Veterinary Association (AVA).   He is also a current convenor of the AVA Hospitals of Excellence accreditation program.  He obtained his membership of the Institute of company directors in 2015 and his Masters of Business Administration in 2019.

    Ms Cathy Pitkin  BA(Hum) BBus(Comm) MIntComDev, Certificate in Executive Management, Leadership and Development.  CSIRO Representative

    Cathy has over 25 years of experience working in leadership roles across private, government, NGO and research organisations.  She is currently Executive Manager Social Responsibility and Ethics at the CSIRO with responsibility for the organisation's research ethics and integrity function.  This includes oversight of animal ethics and welfare within the organisation's research practice.  Cathy is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD).

    Professor Alan Tilbrook  BSc (Hons) PhD Universities Australia Representative

    Professor Alan Tilbrook has over 30 years of experience in leading scientific research on the welfare of animals. His predominant research discipline is neuroendocrinology. He has also established and leads The Animal Welfare Collaborative a national initiative to improve the welfare of animals that is led by The University of Queensland, The University of Western Australia, The University of Adelaide and The University of Newcastle. He is Chair and Research Champion of the National Animal Welfare Research, Development and Extension Strategy and was a founder and Deputy Director of the Animal Welfare Science Centre. For a number of years Professor Tilbrook chaired the Animal Welfare Advisory Committee of South Australia, which advises the South Australian Government on animal welfare, and from 2013 to 2017 he was the chair of the Primary Industries and Regions South Australia Animal Ethics Committee.

    Professor Pat Cragg   BSc(Hons)  PhD(Brist)  Royal Society Te Apārangi Representative

    Chair of the ANZCCART New Zealand Board since April 2020. Pat is a physiologist, and from undergraduate training, a zoologist; her research area covered cardiorespiratory function and control in health and disease; her breadth of teaching is typified as a co-editor of a long-standing physiology textbook. Prior to retirement in May 2018, she held appointments at the University of Otago, for instance as Head of Department of Physiology, Associate Dean Academic Health Sciences and Acting Dean of School of Biomedical Sciences. Pat was on the University's Animal Ethics Committee for 27 years and on the ANZCCART New Zealand Board for 18 years, with 4 years as Deputy Chair, as well as 7 years as the NZ representative on the ANZCCART Australian Board. For many years Pat was Secretary of the Physiological Society of NZ and Chair of the Scientific Committee of the Otago Medical Research Foundation. From mid April 2019 she returned from retirement to be the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic and will be retiring again in February 2021.

    Dr Mandy Paterson  BVsc (Hons) MEd PhD  RSPCA Representative

    Mandy has worked as the Principal Scientist for RSPCA Qld for 12 years. She worked as a clinical veterinarian for over 20 years and then moved into research. Her areas of interest include animal welfare policy and research, shelter management and practice, and wildlife policy and management. Mandy represents the RSPCA on several Government and industry committees and working groups.

    Dr Malcolm France BVSc PhD MANZCVS (Pathology)  Private Member

    Malcolm France is a consultant veterinarian working in the care and management of laboratory animals. He has a PhD in veterinary pathology and has served as the director of animal facilities at two of Australia’s Group of Eight universities. Other appointments have included chair of two Animal Ethics Committees, reviewer for the international journal Laboratory Animals, ad hoc site visitor for AAALAC International, inaugural President, Registrar and Public Officer of ANZLAA, member of the ICLAS regional committee, and secretary of the ANZCVS laboratory animal chapter.

  • Council

ANZCCART New Zealand

Honorary life members of ANZCCART

Honorary life membership of ANZCCART is regarded as the ultimate recognition we can bestow on any individual who, in the opinion of the Board and Members has provided outstanding service to ANZCCART over a number of years that is clearly above and beyond what would normally be expected and has also worked for the welfare of animals in research and teaching in line with ANZCCART's stated goals.

Since our inception in 1987, we have recognised those listed below with this award:

  • 2010  Professor Margaret Rose
  • 2010  Professor Warwick Anderson
  • 2011  Mrs Elizabeth Grant
  • 2011  Professor David Mellor
  • 2011  Dr AC David Bayvel  (Deceased)
  • 2012  Mr John Strachan
  • 2012  Dr Michael Rickard